What's On

Oslo Philharmonic / Petrenko

Scandinavia’s super-orchestra bring their silken strings and luminous woodwind to bear on Strauss and Shostakovich, before joining forces with another giant of Norwegian music, Leif Ove Andsnes.

Under its music director Vasily Petrenko, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra is a natural guest at the Barbican – London’s home from home for great international orchestras. It’s blazed a worldwide reputation, and this programme of Strauss, Grieg and Shostakovich is ideally tailored to its strengths.

After all, the 21st century has few more dynamic interpreters of Shostakovich than Petrenko – just as Strauss’s swashbuckling symphonic poem is the perfect calling-card for the Oslo Phil. But at the heart of it all is Grieg’s piano concerto, and if any artist can rediscover its freshness and poetry, it’s Leif Ove Andsnes, a pianist for whom Grieg is ‘a force of nature’.

R Strauss  Don Juan
Grieg  Piano Concerto in A minor
Shostakovich  Symphony No 10

Oslo Philharmonic
Vasily Petrenko  conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes  piano

Event starts
Tuesday 22 October, 2019
Event ends
Tuesday 22 October, 2019
Barbican Hall
Venue Address
Silk Street

London , London

View website (opens in new window)
Performances & Gigs