What's On

BBC SO Total Immersion: Ligeti - Ligeti's Musica ricerata, 10 Pieces for Wind Quintet, Horn Trio

A concert of Ligeti chamber works traces the composer’s stylistic evolution from early experiments to mature reconsideration.

An opportunity to hear Ligeti’s complex musical processes and preoccupations distilled down to their very essence, stripped of the dramatic and sonic excess that characterise his orchestral works. This performance by musicians from the GSMD allows the audience to trace Ligeti’s musical development, from the exploratory beginnings of Musica recercata for solo piano, through the mature experiments of the Wind Quintets before arriving at the composer’s late, stylistic ‘third way’ in his Brahms-homage of a Horn Trio.

Ligeti  Musica ricerata
10 Pieces for Wind Quintet
Horn Trio
Síppal, dobbal, nádihegedüvel

Guildhall Musicians

Event starts
Saturday 2 March, 2019
Event Ends
Saturday 2 March, 2019
Milton Court Concert hall
Venue Address
Silk Street

London, London

View website (opens in new window)
Performances & Gigs