What's On

Alison Balsom in Gabriel: An Entertainment with Trumpet

Sir John Eliot Gardiner brings together three works that define the ‘Czech sound’, by composers who drew their material from Czech history, legends and landscapes – Dvořák and Janáček.

Janáček’s Ballad of Blaník and Dvořák’s Golden Spinning Wheel are both symphonic poems that take Czech legends as their inspiration – the first using the tale of Wenceslas as a vehicle to celebrate the peaceful regeneration of Czechoslovakia as an independent nation after World War I; the second a rather gruesome tale of greed, murder and magic.

In the words of the writer Milan Kundera, Janáček’s Glagolitic Mass is ‘more an orgy than a mass’ – perhaps appropriately for its composer, who despite being a well-known atheist, wrote a work that largely followed the traditional Catholic Mass structure. Including a wildly energetic section for solo organ, it takes the listener on an exhilarating journey.

Janáček  Ballad of Blaník
Dvořák  The Golden Spinning Wheel
Janáček  Glagolitic Mass (1927 version, ed Paul Wingfield)

In a change to early listings, Pavla Vykopalová is no longer able to appear in the LSO’s performance of Janáček’s Glagolitic Mass and the soprano soloist will now be Lucie Vagenknechtova.
Posted: Wed 17 July, 2019

Sir John Eliot Gardiner  conductor
Lucie Vagenknechtová  soprano
Lucie Hilscherová  alto
Aleš Briscein  tenor
Jan Martiník  bass
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey  chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Event starts
Monday 21 October, 2019
Event ends
Monday 21 October, 2019
Barbican Hall
Venue Address
Silk Street

London , London

View website (opens in new window)
Performances & Gigs