What's On

Pithead Chapel

The Larry Brown Short Story Award

We’re pleased to announce the fifth annual Larry Brown Short Story Award. The winners will receive the following prizes: 1st $500 USD, 2nd $50 USD, 3rd $50 USD, and 4th and 5th will receive a copy of the book Tiny Love: The Complete Stories by Larry Brown. Each prize winner will be published in the January 2021 issue of Pithead Chapel.

2020 Guest Judge: Jill McCorkle

Contest Guidelines

Please read the guidelines carefully before submitting

  • The contest is open from August 1st to October 31st of each year
  • The submitted story must be less than 4,000 words
  • No previously published work will be considered
  • The writer’s name and contact information should only appear within the cover letter box in Submittable; submissions will be judged blindly by our guest judge
  • Again, no identifying information should appear on the submitted manuscript pages
  • There’s a $10 entry fee for each story submission
  • Writers can submit multiple entries; however, each entry must be submitted separately and each entry requires an entry fee and cover letter with an address and phone number
  • Simultaneous submissions are fine; however, please withdraw the story immediately if it’s accepted elsewhere
  • The winners and honorable mentions will be notified by December 15th, 2020, and the prize money will be awarded the day after publication on January 2nd, 2021
  • Those selected as honorable mentions will have the chance to be published alongside the winning selections in the January 2021 issue of Pithead Chapel


Saturday 1 August, 2020
Saturday 31 October, 2020
Venue Address

National , n/a

Pithead Chapel (opens in new window)
Call for Writers